CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 19 April 2012

PRESENT

Cllr P Hollick (Chairman) Cllr R C Stay (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs P N Aldis J A E Clarke J G Jamieson M R Jones Mrs J G Lawrence

Clirs D J Lawrence K C Matthews J Murray B Saunders N Warren

Miss A Sparrow

M A G Versallion

Mrs P E Turner MBE

B J Spurr

A M Turner

B Wells

P Williams

J N Young

Apologies for Absence:	Cllrs	Mrs D B Gurney D J Hopkin R W Johnstone A Shadbolt P F Vickers R D Wenham	A Shadbolt P F Vickers R D Wenham
Members in Attendance:	Clirs	Mrs A Barker A R Bastable R D Berry L Birt M C Blair D Bowater A D Brown Mrs C F Chapman MBE Mrs S Clark N B Costin I Dalgarno	D Jones I A MacKilligan Ms C Maudlin D McVicar Mrs M Mustoe T Nicols R B Pepworth J A G Saunders N J Sheppard I Shingler M A Smith

A L Dodwell

P A Duckett Dr R Egan

C C Gomm

Mrs R J Drinkwater

Mrs R B Gammons

Mrs S A Goodchild

Mrs D B Green

Mrs C Hegley

GPC - 19.04.12 Page 2

Officers in Attendance:	Mr J Atkinson	 Head of Legal and Democratic Services
	Miss H Bell	 Committee Services Officer
	Mr R Carr	 Chief Executive
	Ms D Clarke	 Interim Assistant Chief Executive (People & Organisation)
	Mr P Dudley	 Assistant Director Children's Services (Learning & Strategic
		Commissioning)
	Mr A Fleming	 Project Director - Business Services
	Mrs S Hobbs	 Committee Services Officer
	Mr T Keaveney	 Assistant Director Housing Services
	Ms M Peaston	 Committee Services Manager
	Mr C Warboys	 Chief Finance Officer & Section 151 Officer

GPC/12/1 Membership of the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee

The Committee considered a schedule tabled by the Monitoring Officer outlining the nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee.

RESOLVED

- 1. that Members of the Appointments Panel and Employee Partnership Committee, be appointed as indicated on the schedule attached as Appendix A to these minutes; and
- 2. to note that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (2-4 Conservatives and 1 Liberal Democrat, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (2 Conservatives and 1 Liberal Democrat).

(Note: The meeting commenced at 8.00 p.m. and concluded at 8.02 p.m.)

Chairman	
Dated	

Minute Item 1

Page 3

Appendix A

General Purposes Committee Appointments

Appointments Panel	Cllr Jon Clarke (C)
	Cllr Peter Hollick (C)
(5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all	Cllr David Jones (LD)
the Executive Members with specific	Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C)
portfolios)	Cllr Richard Stay (C)
	plus Executive Members as below:
	Cllr James Jamieson
	Cllr Maurice Jones
	Clir Mrs Carole Hegley
	•
	Cllr Brian Spurr
	Cllr Nigel Young
	Cllr Mark Versallion
	Subs:
	Cllr Nigel Aldis (LD)
	Cllr Brian Saunders (C)
	Clir Nigel Warren (C)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer
	as needed from the membership of
	the Appointments Panel.
	To comprise 3-5 members (2-4
	Conservative and 1 Liberal Democrat,
	including at least 1 Executive
	Member)
	(Member)
Employee Partnership Committee	Cllr Nigel Aldis (LD)
	Cllr Peter Hollick (Ć)
(7 members + 4 substitutes)	Cllr James Jamieson (C)
	Cllr Maurice Jones (C)
	Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C)
	Clir Ken Matthews (C)
	Cllr Richard Stay (C)
	Subs:
	Cllr Jon Clarke (C)
	Cllr David Jones (LD)
	Cllr Brian Saunders (C)
	Cllr Nigel Warren (C)

Page 4

This page is intentionally left blank